Mar 10, 2007

USCIS
Nebraska Service Center
P. O. Box 87140
Lincoln, NE 68501-7140

RE: EB1a Alien of Extraordinary Ability Immigrant Petition
by Dr. , Ph.D.

Dear Immigration Officer:

I am writing this letter in support of , Ph.D. in his immigrant petition as an alien of extraordinary ability in the sciences. I have known him for over six years as his Ph.D. thesis advisor at the Center for Superconductivity Research, where I have been a professor at the Physics and Electrical Engineering Department at the University of .

My research group specializes in the area of Epitaxial functional oxides and we are rated among the top two or three groups worldwide in this field. Prior to joining University of as a professor twelve years ago, I was employed at as a Solid State Physicist, and Lab Director over a 17 year period. I have published over 450 papers on the subject and hold over 26 US patents. I am listed 66th in the world’s most cited Physicists and am a Fellow of the American Physics Society, member of the Physics Policy Committee and am on the board of visitors of the College of Mathematics and Physical Sciences. I am also the founder, Chairman and CTO of Inc. (ranked in the top 50 fast growth companies in the greater Baltimore Washington area for four years in a row), a high tech business specializing in the area of semiconductor failure analysis and metrology. In addition, I am an advisor to a technology startup called . For your reference, I have attached a copy of my resume/curriculum vitae and list of publications.